Let’s start this blog with one of the best ways to hook an audience (especially on the internet): with a math problem!
Assume the following scenario:
- Available searches: You’re diligently working to optimize your Google rankings for the keyword “IoT for manufacturing”. According to Google, this keyword is searched 1,000 times per month.
- Your click-through rate (CTR): Your efforts were successful! You’re ranking consistently in the top three organic (i.e., “free”) results of Google, and 20 percent of users are clicking through to your website — which is not unusual if you’re holding that high of a ranking position in a search result page (BACKLINKO).
- Your conversion rate: Once users reach your landing page, roughly 1 percent of them will complete a desired action and “convert”. Let’s say they submit a form to download your nifty white paper about the importance of reliability in the manufacturing industry, thus becoming a “lead”
Ask the question: How many leads does “IoT for manufacturing” drive per year from organic search?
The math breaks down like so:
- Months (Searches Available x Your CTR x Your Conversion Rate) = Leads
Then, plugging in the inputs above, you get:
- 12 (1,000 x 20% x 1%) = 24 yearly leads
Twenty-four leads may not be bad. But if you’re looking to optimize further in your search engine optimization (SEO) efforts, where do you start? Let’s check our basic assumptions here. You’re already ranking highly, and that 20 percent CTR is looking handsome. At this point, some marketers may throw their hands in the air and call it a day. Next, they’ll focus on producing actionless keyword ranking reports month after month, until the client inevitably pulls the plug on their SEO program.
Rather than succumbing to the endless pit of reporting for reporting sake, let’s take a look at that 1 percent conversion rate your landing page is yielding. What if after implementing a few cosmetic enhancements, some punched-up copy and some A/B experiments, you’re able to raise that conversion rate from 1 to 2 percent?
Now you’ve doubled your leads from 24 to 48 leads a year — and that didn’t require you to earn a single additional impression beyond what you’re currently achieving. Sometimes better leveraging your existing pool of impressions is the proverbial low-hanging fruit we all seek.
Remember, too, this is merely one isolated keyword instance. What if you were able to make similar improvements for a dozen other keywords that carry a comparable number of searches? Before you know it, that same landing page is potentially driving hundreds of additional free leads over the course of a year. While the change of a conversion rate from 1 to 2 percent may not seem like the most baggable stat in the world, at scale, these improvements can contribute huge wins for your bottom line.
All you had to do was focus on your landing pages!